“On Images, Symbols and Metaphors in John’s Gospel and the Lenten Season”

Academy for Faith and LifeThe Academy for Faith & Life at Brentwood Christian Church is pleased to present a new six-session series, “On Images, Symbols and Metaphors in John’s Gospel and the Lenten Season,” set for Wednesday evenings from February 17 to March 23. Sessions begin at 6:45 p.m. and will be taught by Dr. Rob Bradford (see bio below). It is free and open to the public. We’ll consider some of the following central questions:

  • How is the story of Jesus’ final pilgrimage to Jerusalem affected by John’s use of imagery, symbols, and metaphor?
  • How can Christians better understand Jesus’ teachings and actions during the Lenten seasons through John’s stylistic lens?
  • How can we grow and develop in our own collective and individual pilgrimages through our study?

To sign up, please contact the church office.

Introducing Dr. Rob Bradford

Born in Orlando Fla amidst orange groves and snowbirds, the son of adoptive parents, my early years were routinely normal. Then, contracting polio at age six, my life was upended, but not necessarily for the worse. I grew up feeling rather unique in an odd sort of way. I became aware of significant limitations, but tried to avoid them by reading a lot of books and magazines. Until college, I attended private schools, which granted me the opportunities for growth in mind, body, and spirit. My college years were unimpressive, finally receiving a Bachelor of Economics at the University of Central Florida. This was followed by graduate study in Ecology with an eye toward becoming a scientist. But another major event, my father’s completely unexpected death turned me to questions of the Bible and theology. As my searching continued, I finished the Master of Divinity at Candler School of Theology, Emory University. Yet, my journey was just beginning. After Emory, three years of further study led me to the PhD in Education from Walden University. During this period I taught biology and ecology at the secondary and college levels. But my journey continues as I seek a Doctor of Theology from Providence School of Theology, which I expect to complete this year.

My wife, Karen has been my journey mate through all the past forty years. She gives me the support and love which sustains my search into answerable and unanswerable questions about God, creation, and our daily lives as followers of Jesus of Nazareth. We are both excited about blending and bonding with the worshipping community here at Brentwood.

About the Academy for Faith & Life
The Academy for Faith and Life at Brentwood Christian Church provides an opportunity for participants from both the congregation and the wider community to engage theological and ethical topics in an in-depth manner not usually found in conventional church study groups. The Academy for Faith and Life explores topics related to religion and culture that is similar to what might be found at the university (and at times even the seminary) level and at the same time provides tools for cultivating individual and societal transformation, all based on an approach to Christianity that values both the mind and the heart.

Leave a Reply

